“And what happened, then? Well, in Whoville they say – that the Grinch’s small heart grew three sizes that day.”

Okay, okay.  That’s a little dramatic.  I’m actually the furthest thing ever from Dr. Seuss’ Grinch.  If you’ve ever had 15 minutes with me, you know I am smiley and loud and hyper and affectionate and sarcastically hilarious and…..wait, this isn’t about me.  THIS ISN’T ABOUT ME!!!  I mean “technically” yes, this blog is about me.  But it’s about me realizing that there are –are you ready for this?!– Other People in the World Besides Myself!  A total mind blow, right???  Yeah, that’s what I thought too when it hit me.  And I know/hope/pray that I can’t possibly be the only one.  That’s why I’m recruiting a bunch of you on this journey with me 🙂


(^This is not a self-portrait, by the way.  I have far less facial hair.)

Are you lost as to what the purpose of this blog is?  Looks like I have some ‘splaining to do!

Let’s back it up for a minute to January 1st, 2012.  I was sitting at my job, sober as a judge.  Every customer that came in that day wished me the customary “Happy New Year” and then asked the proverbial “Did you make a New Year’s resolution?”  I would smile and say “No, because I’m too A.D.D. to remember to keep one anyways.”  But what I was thinking was “I really don’t have anything going so wrong in my life that I need to resolve to change it.”   Could I stand to lose (more than) a few pounds?  Sure.  But I was not so astonishingly overweight that I felt I had to commit to a $200 gym membership and a trial run at Weight Watchers (and no offense to those who do this~kudos to you!  I’m waaaay too lazy unmotivated).  Should I give up drinking?  Nah, because I’m not an alcoholic and sometimes a girl just needs a glass or ten of Boone’s Farm with her girlfriends after a long, hard day.  Don’t smoke, don’t do drugs, am only indebted to my mother, and seriously love my job.  Live in a cute, modest house with two cars, one hubby, a kid and a puppy.  Yep, my life is pretty damn skippy.  And I’m not just talking about this past year, I’m talking about all of my life…..

Ummm…could someone please hold my hand and help me down off of my high horse??

BAM.  That’s when it hit me like a bolt of lightning. Like a ton of bricks. Like a fart hits you in an elevator.  A sudden attack of conscience.  If my life was already in some semblance of an order, why wasn’t I helping people whose weren’t?  Who the hell did I think I was?!   And why the hell did it take me THIRTY YEARS to realize that I should have been giving back as thanks for all that I’ve been given???  I think I’ve only donated to a charity maybe 3 times in my whole life.  And I definitely don’t remember volunteering anywhere, unless I was forced to by an adult (which kind of defeats the purpose of “volunteering”).   My brain kicked into overdrive (thanks, in part, to my Adderall) and I started making lists.  Lists of possible charities to donate to.  Lists of my friends and family that I had watched go through some of the worst things people should ever have to experience in life, lists of how I could honor their loved ones.  Lists of some of my most favorite bloggers whose stories and messages have forever impacted my life.  Page after page after page.  (*I’d like to take this moment to apologize to my boss, who paid me for 6 hours of labor that day when I probably really only did about TWO hours of actual work.  Sorry boss.)  

So here it is people.  My NEW New Year’s resolution, almost one year in the making.  And I’ll need your help, because I can’t do it alone:  Twelve months.  Twelve charities.  And nine other people each month besides myself that will donate TEN DOLLARS  just one time.  That’s $100 a month to each charity.  $1,200.00 in all.  I know it can be done.  And I am not just going to talk the talk, I am going to walk the walk.  Literally.  If there’s a fundraising walk to be done, I’ll lace up my sneakers and get my dimply ass out there.  If there’s soup to be served, hand me a ladle.  Oh, and there’s also going to be a head shaving.  Stay tuned for that 😉  I am excited to document it on this blog.  And since you all will be helping to hold me accountable, we will see this resolution all the way through.  Some charities are established and ready to go, some are still a work in progress.  On December 1st, 2012 I will post the list of the finalized charities.  That will give you one month to take a look and decide which one you might consider donating to.  I hope one touches your soul as much as they have all touched mine.  And on January 1st, 2013, it’s Go Time.  Stay tuned!!! …….

6 thoughts on ““And what happened, then? Well, in Whoville they say – that the Grinch’s small heart grew three sizes that day.”

  1. Lindsay Mostrom says:

    This is awesome!

  2. Laurie Preston says:

    Hey Elizabeth… I always knew you had a heart and a very big one at that. What a great idea and plan! Send me the list and I will contribute. I have a few favorites of my own, and will certainly support yours.

  3. zealot66 says:

    Like a fart hits you in an elevator?? What the H?? Oh, and if u reach your 1200.00 goal, and I’m sure you will, those 4 hours of pay were well worth it. ( but don’t let it happen again).

  4. Jessica says:

    Found you through Cubepiphany. Nice effort. Love the high horse cartoon. Might have to print that one. see you on Facebook

    • Liz K! says:

      Thank you, Jessica 🙂 Can you believe I have never done charity work in my LIFE?! Gonna give it my best shot ten dollars at a time ~ hope you like what you see!

    • Liz K! says:

      I saw that he put something on there 🙂 Thanks for stopping to check my page out. Gotta give this my best shot because there are a LOT of organizations out there that need help. Too many to count! Glad to have you along.

Leave a Reply

thecrumbdiaries

Logan is challenged but not limited, and he is living his life like a boss. I am just lucky enough to be along for the ride.

Dadmissions

life surrounded by a wife and two girls

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

lifewithpenispeople

I share my house with the husband (commonly referred to as Babydaddy) and two small boys (the penis people). Living with penis people is really messy and really loud.ferred to herein as The Dick or the H

Faith, Hope and Life

Be Who You Are Meant To Be and You Will Set The World On Fire

sa33092

A great WordPress.com site

Summer of the dragonfly

writings from her Mommy

JennMarieP Blog

Parenting, cooking, entertaining, & so much more!

DeBie Hive

A YEAR-LONG TRIAL (AND ERROR!) OF HOW I'M TAKING ON "GIVING BACK"

Frugalista Blog

Frugalista

My Sudden Attack of Conscience...

A YEAR-LONG TRIAL (AND ERROR!) OF HOW I'M TAKING ON "GIVING BACK"

Comments on I Want a Dumpster Baby: Things I Love Thursday - Part 58

A YEAR-LONG TRIAL (AND ERROR!) OF HOW I'M TAKING ON "GIVING BACK"

Pinwheels and Poppies

Life and stuff.

